you're reading...
INTERVIEWS

Johanna Lindsey Revealed

What is your birthdate?
3/10
*
Previous occupations:
Writing was my first occupation, begun at age 23.
*
Favorite job:
Umm, writing?
*
High school and/or college:
Kailua High School in Hawaii
*
Name of your favorite composer or music artist?
I don’t actually listen to much music since I need quiet to work. But I would say Queen (group) from way back.
*
Favorite movie:
I don’t have a favorite. If it makes me laugh, I like it.
*
Favorite television show:
That would have to be Scrubs. I think I’ve bought all Seasons they have available so far.

Revealing Questions

Q. How would you describe your life in only 8 words?
A. Currently, peaceful and full of laughter. Overall–amazing.

Q. How would you describe perfect happiness?
A. I don’t think anything that broad in scope can be described. It’s one of those ‘to each his own’. For me it’s rather simple–sharing my life with someone I love.

Q. What’s your greatest fear?
A. Loss of loved ones.

Q. If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you choose to be?
A. Where I am.

Q. What are your most overused words or phrases?
A. Cool. Yeah, it’s outdated, but it’s a rare day you’ll catch me saying ‘awesome.’

Q. If you could acquire any talent, what would it be?
A. I used to paint with oils. Didn’t have much talent for it, and I don’t have the patience to actually acquire some skill for it, but if I could, that would be–cool.

Q. What is your greatest achievement?
A. That all of my books have made the New York Times list, including four in the #1 spot.

Q. What’s your greatest flaw?
A. That I smoke.

Q. What’s your best quality?
A. My will-power, when I choose to let it work.

Q. If you could be any person or thing, who or what would it be?
A. This question doesn’t relate to me, since I’ve never wished to be anything other than what I am.

Q. What trait is most noticeable about you?
A. My sense of humor.

Q. Who is your favorite fictional hero?
A. James Malory

Q. Who is your favorite fictional villain?
A. Villains are meant to be hated. I have no favorites.

Q. What’s your fantasy profession?
A. Are you kidding me? Being a writer, what could top that?

Q. What 3 personal qualities are most important to you?
A. Trust, dependability, a good sense of humor.

Q. If you could eat only one thing for the rest of your days, what would it be?
A. Not thinking about my eternal diet, I’m going to say pizza.

Q. What are your 5 favorite songs?
A. What you Give-Tesla. Feelin’ Way Too Damn Good-Nickelback. Overkill-Colin Hay. Feeling Good–Nina Simone. As a Judgement–Ennio Morricone.

On Books and Writing

Q. Who are your favorite authors?
A. I would have to say Kathleen E. Woodiwiss and Rosemary Rogers who started this wonderful genre.

Q. What are your 5 favorite books of all time?
A. The Wolf and the Dove, Sweet Savage Love, The Clan of the Cave Bear, and two of my own, Tender Rebel and Warrior’s Woman.

Q. Is there a book you love to reread?
A. Don’t laugh, but I like to reread my own books. A few can make me cry again, and most of them can make me laugh again.

Q. Do you have one sentence of advice for new writers?
A. Put your heart into what you’re writing. If you can’t laugh at your own characters, or shed a tear for them, or even get angry at one of them, no one else will either.

Q. What comment do you hear most often from your readers?
A. That they love the Malorys.  So do I.

Q. How did you come to write Rogue of My Own?
A. In a word–Rupert. He was created near the end of a prior book, The Devil who Tamed Her, and he ended up being too handsome, so I toned that down by making him seem somewhat effeminate. But after that book was finished, I couldn’t stop thinking about him, or kicking myself for giving him that stigma, so I came up with a reason for it, a ruse, an attitude he fostered specifically for his mother. Then suddenly I had the makings of a hero in him, so I gave him his own book to share his unusual motives with my readers.

From Simon & Schuster
Thanks to Viking Princess.

About HC

Just me and nothing else but.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Johanna Lindsey Revealed

  1. when is the nexted malory noval coming out in book store can hardly wait

    Posted by eunice trowsdale | October 16, 2010, 9:03 am
  2. Out of all the books I have read and enjoy, the Malory’s are my favorite. I think I have read them all at least 3 times. The books flow better then any I have read and it usually takes me a few days to get out of London and the Malory clan and back to reality. And I do laugh and cry at them even after reading them this often.

    Posted by Judy | May 12, 2011, 11:36 am
  3. I love Ohr, I know nothing about him except he is half chinese.
    Is there more information about him in other books

    Posted by Magda | July 8, 2011, 6:52 pm
  4. I can never have enough of the Malory books and would love more books as long as that doesn’t involve getting them all old so you can procede to their kids’ stories :-D.

    Posted by Elven | June 24, 2012, 12:26 am
  5. I am not a fan of all Malory….. I prefer Johanna’s books that take place between the 11th century and the 16th century. My favorite book of all time is also the Wolf and the Dove by Kathleen Woodiwiss.

    Posted by PAM CARPENTER | March 8, 2014, 2:37 am
  6. I feel exactly the same way. :)

    Posted by HC | March 9, 2014, 1:19 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

